HGTV Design Star – The Final Challenge

21 09 2009

antonio-sunglassesIt’s only Antonio and Dan left, and I’m damn excited for this Season Finale. They keep saying it’s the “Biggest Challenge Ever”, now I don’t know that for a fact, but it seems pretty damn big to me. HGTV1

The Challenge: Makeover an entire home (4 rooms in total) with 44 hours in 4 days, a team of carpenters, and $50,000 dollars.

Antonio has a young couple with a baby boy. Dan has a mother and daughter that are starting over after a divorce.

I loved Dan’s house, and I really loved the color palette. Purple! I have a serious obsession with this color lately, and I would DIE to have this living room! I mean look at that rug! The Fireplace! And the mirror hiding the tv! Amazing! He did a great job with the flow of color and design. It all looks cohesive, functional, and beautiful. I think he did a perfect job for a mother/daughter house.

HGTV2Antonio has by far the coolest house. I loved his use of color, unique pieces, and style. I would probably live in Dan’s, but want to live in Antonio’s (ya know what I mean?). The old armoire he put in front of the fireplaces was amazing! I loved that, it’s so creative, and very unique. I really liked the splashes of green and pink with the brown undertones. It looks so comfortable and easy, like I could just slip right in without my shoes on. And to be honest, this is why he won.

That’s right, I called it. You can applaud me now (just kidding… sort of). Antonio is unique, fresh, and something HGTV doesn’t have. I really like Dan, and I”m glad that he won the “fan favorite”, but Antonio won with flying colors. Remember the hot pink birds? Flying colors.

I’m glad I watched Design Star, it’s a show I’ll be watching next summer. With a little more polishing, I think this show could be up in the ranks with Project Runway, and ANTM. If you didn’t check it out this year, you should next year. It’s entertaining, creative, and if you like anything to do with design, you’ll enjoy it.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment